Tiger Twelve




In 1995, students, staff and faculty came together to craft a statement of position regarding our basic principles as an academic community.  The LSU Commitment to Community states our expectations for each LSU community member.  


To promote these principles, each spring, the Office of the Dean of Students recognizes twelve outstanding seniors who “contribute positively to the life of the campus and surrounding community”.  These 12 individuals are then recognized as the Tiger Twelve.   In keeping with LSU's Commitment to Community, these students also hold themselves to the “highest standards of academic, personal, and social integrity; practice justice, equality, and compassion in human relations;” and also “respect the dignity of all persons and accept individual differences.” 


Eligibility Requirements


To be eligible for the Tiger Twelve Class of 2015, a student must:


  1. Demonstrate, through their scholarship, actions and contributions, the principles presented in the LSU Commitment to Community.
  2. Have a cumulative gpa of at least 2.5
  3. Graduate in May, August or December of 2015
  4. Have current full-time status at LSU (unless graduating in May 2015)



Eligible senior and graduate level students may be nominated by any member of the campus community or submit self-nominations starting on January 12, 2015.  Student nominees will be asked to submit an application to the Office of the Dean of Students that will assist in considering their nomination.  This information will include academic achievement, campus involvement, personal development, community service, and future plans. 


To nominate a student, download the nomination form below or submit nominations online. The nomination deadline has been extended to 4:30 pm on Wednesday, January 28, 2015.  Nominations forms can be turned in to the Office of the Dean of Students, located in Suite 333 of the LSU Student Union or e-mailed to Michelle Lowery at mlowery@lsu.edu.


Download the Nomination Form

Submit Nominations Online




Tiger Twelve recipients will be recognized at a reception held on April 25, in the Rotunda of the LSU Business Education Complex. If you have any questions, please email Michelle Lowery or call 225-578-5160.


Click here to see the article on the Tiger Twelve Class of 2014.